Two PWNIE awards for VU researchers

The winners of the Pwnie Awards were announced at the ceremony in Las Vegas on 26 July 2017.

07/28/2017 | 9:25 AM

Pwnie for Most Innovative Research is awarded to the person who published the most interesting and innovative research in the form of a paper, presentation, tool or even a mailing list post. The 2017 award went to Ben Gras, Kaveh Razavi, Erik Bosman, Herbert Bos, Cristiano Giuffrida for ASLR on the line

Pwnie for Best Privilege Escalation Bug is awarded to the researchers who discovered or exploited the most technically sophisticated and interesting privilege escalation vulnerability. These vulnerabilities can include local operating system privilege escalations, operating system sandbox escapes, and virtual machine guest breakout vulnerabilities. The 2017 prize went to Victor van der Veen, Yanick Fratantonio, Martina Lindorfer, Daniel Gruss, Clementine Maurice, Giovanni Vigna, Herbert Bos, Kaveh Razavi, Cristiano Giuffrida for Drammer: Deterministic Rowhammer Attacks on Mobile Platforms